CANADA – Masters of Landscape Architecture

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums EDUCATION CANADA – Masters of Landscape Architecture

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Carmen
    Participant

Hi, 

I am an urban planning graduate from New Zealand who is looking to study a masters in landscape architecture. 

Two I am particularly interested in are University of British Columbia and University of Guelph.

Which one is better – or what differences do they have?
    Has anyone attended these universities? If so, would you mind letting me know what you think about them? 

Cheers, 
    Carmen

Jasmine Davis
    Participant

Hi Carmen, 

The program at UBC is a very sought-after, making it highly competitive, but from my impression I would say that it’s probably the best program in Canada. One consideration that may or may not be important to you, the cost of living in British Columbia is extremely high compared to other provinces so it might be a good idea to research your living situation as well to make a holistic decision. 

Although I’ve never studied at UBC or have even visited the province for that matter, I did do my undergraduate degree at The University of Guelph and loved it. It’s a city with a small town feel but all of the amenities you would expect from an urban area, and the friendly small town atmosphere permeates the university. It’s a smaller campus which makes navigating your classes fairly simple, and the majority of students/staff/faculty are incredibly friendly and helpful.