Christchurch Earthquake Recovery: Can anyone help me with post-disaster case study projects?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Christchurch Earthquake Recovery: Can anyone help me with post-disaster case study projects?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Hannah Ayres
    Participant

Hello world wide landscape architects, I wonder if anyone can help me?

I am a post graduate landscape architecture student at Lincoln University in Christchurch, New Zealand. Since the devastation of the latest earthquake in Christchurch on February 22nd, I have adjusted my master thesis topic to something along the lines of Landscape Architecture in Earthquake Recovery and Resilience. As part of my research, I am looking for case studies/project across the world where landscape architects have undertaken projects to rebuild (parts of) cities which have suffered from or are prone to natural disasters such as earthquakes.

I would love to hear from anyone who has been involved in such recovery and resilience projects, or if anyone could give me links to specific projects of this nature. At the moment I am interested in all scales, from overall city planning, to memorial parks established in newly opened gaps in the city. As I wonder through my shaken city, I wonder what have landscape architects done in the past with huge areas of land now deemed unsafe to build upon, once the rubble have been removed?

I am hoping to establish a research project that not only meets the requirements of my degree, but also becomes a useful resource for the landscape architects who will be involved in rebuilding our little city in the future (hopefully me!).

So if you think you can help, please let me know!

Many thanks in advance

Hannah Ayres
    Participant