Entry Level Salary in Dallas

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums STORY BOARD Entry Level Salary in Dallas

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Winston Mitchell
    Participant

Hi All,

I was wondering if anyone knows what the market in Dallas will support as an entry level salary. While I know that I will tai pretty much whatever I am given, I have to give salary expectations as part of my paper work, and I don’t want to lowball myself into a salary lower than what i might reasonably expect to get. At the same time, I don’t want to ask for so much that I am turned away from jobs. Any advice would be much appreciated.

note: I have a bachelors of Landscape Architecture and am finishing up my masters of Urban Planning, but have as of yet had 2 summer internships and no full time landscape architecture jobs outside of those internships.

Thanks all

Stefano Ascari
    Participant

I know someone started at close to 50k. Dallas is booming atm

Hello Winston;

Not having “experience” really puts you in the same boat with a ton of LA grads right now.  LA grads (from what I’ve been reading) have been having very difficult time finding “entry level” positions….at least for the past 3 or 4 yrs.

I took a peek at ASLA.org’s job link.  One LA position (2-4 yrs. of experience) is offering a salary of $50k to $54k. Another firm searching for an LA with 7-10 yrs. of exp. is offering a salary of approx. $60k. When you are thinking in terms of salary, also, be mindful of the location (city/state) where a particular job is located. IMO, the cost of living in Dallas (depending on the area) is reasonable.  No State Income Taxes. However, if you’re job hunting in NY or California…you have to be very aware of the high cost of living & tax situation…as those will seriously impact your income.