Grading & Drainage tips, tricks and autocad tools

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Grading & Drainage tips, tricks and autocad tools

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Hello All,

I am looking for ways to become more efficient when doing grading and drainage plans within autocad.  I graduated 18 months ago. I was wanting tips, tricks or autocad tools that people have found very useful as they work through grading plans. Any helpful tips/ reminders that you tell yourself when doing grading plans.  Think back to when it all really “clicked” for you..what things can you think of that made you more efficient?

I look forward to hearing your responses.  Please note.  In our office we use Autocad LT and will most likely not be interested in upgrading or purchasing any special software.  I am just looking for ways people have figured out that make it easier for them.

Thank you so much in advance!

Matt

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant

Here is one specific example for a specific circumstance that may inspire you to your own strategies (I also use LT).

I often make a small circle into a block that I name “c” that I use in conjunction with the measure command. If I have a crowned driveway at a steady slope I make a centerline – a polyline. I’ll subtract the existing or proposed grade at the lower end from the grade at the higher end.  Obviously divide that difference by the length of the polyline to get the even slope. Calculate to get the distance from one of those grades to get to a whole number elevation. Use the lengthen command with the DE option to shorten the polyline by that distance. Use the measure command with the block option to shoot that circle down the centerline for the distance for  1′ elevation change based on your slope. You can do the same for the edges of pavement or shoulder after considering the height of the crown. Then draw your contours using the “center’ snap.

Calico