HELP!!! Planning for a Career in Landscape Architecture and torn between Degree Programs

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums EDUCATION HELP!!! Planning for a Career in Landscape Architecture and torn between Degree Programs

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Gregg Harrack
    Participant

Hi Guys, 

I’m a second year student living in the Caribbean, currently studying business. I was introduced to Landscape Architecture earlier this year, and I completely fell in love with the it, so I’ve begun restructuring myself to move towards doing my Masters in Landscape Architecture. However, I’m torn right now because I my university does not have a landscape architecture program, but it does have a Marine, Wildlife and Conservation Degree track. I’ve spoken with the Dean of that dept and she assures me that I can still graduate in 2 years, or it may add on one extra semester because I’m considering switching. 

So here’s why I’m torn….I’m tugged between whether I should switch to the Conservation Degree, it has a lot of science courses that I have to learn, and I don’t have much of a science background, so that has me a little unsettled. Although I see huge advantage in switching especially since I would like to specialize in Conversation during my Masters. However despite feeling like Conservation might be the best way to go, I’m torn between my Business Degree, because I want to believe that LA has a major business component especially when it comes to dealing with clients, working within a budget and negotiating contracts and stuff like that. 

Has anyone been in such a situation or has known anyone in such a situation?……I would really appreciate any thoughts, advice, suggestions that can help me make this decision either decision more comfortably.  

Thanks for reading and hopefully replying 🙂

CJ Cho
    Participant