How does a recent graduate get that first job?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PORTFOLIO & RESUME How does a recent graduate get that first job?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    MLA@NYC
    Participant

I graduated in June, took some time off and now I’m looking for a job. I have a Master’s degree in Landscape Architecture but no professional experience or connections. How does a person like me find that first job? I’ve been sending inquiry letters out to firms but I haven’t received any answers. Entry-level jobs don’t seem to be advertised (I’m in NYC and relocation is not an option) and staffing agencies only seem to want people with professional experience. I had an internship while in school but it was performing habitat management fieldwork in a national park so it doesn’t apply to design office experience.  

Any thoughts, suggestions or feedback are welcome!

Tosh K
    Participant

Network, network, network.  Be open to contract work (hourly short-term).  Make as many friends in the field as possible and be active in NY-ASLA.

Openings are rarely advertised because most firms are inundated with inquiries as it is.  If you ask for a tour and informational interview, you might get a feel for what’s around.

MLA@NYC
    Participant

Thanks for the feedback! Forgive my ignorance, but what happens at an informational interview and who usually conducts them?  What would I be expected to do in an informational interview? 

nca
    Participant

I agree with Tosh, but he forgot the #1 priority–be the most capable, proficient designer you know and prove it with an outstanding portfolio. If you dont have a great portfolio, make it great by reworking old projects. 

I wholeheartedly agree with Tosh on his point regarding being open to any number of arrangements from part time, contract, hourly, etc–just DO NOT work for free!