Job Searching Advice

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Daniel Braswell
    Participant

I am approaching two years since graduating from grad school and I still have not been able to land a job in my chosen career field.  I have degrees in Landscape Architecture and City and Regional Planning.

I have had several interviews with firms in my area, but I haven’t been able to get over the hump and get an offer. I have 2 yrs experience in the field, but the last time I worked in the profession was several years ago. I feel that I am a good candidate for any firm.  However, the longer that goes by that I do not get an offer, I wonder if I am marketing myself wrong or if the growing gap in employment in the field is viewed as a negative.

I relocated to the Boston area shortly after graduation. I am trying build a professional network here, but it has been slow going. I am unable to relocate outside of the metro area.

I was wondering if anyone has encountered the same issues as me in job searching and what they may have done to land the job.  Does anyone have any advice on landing the job in the ever changing job market?  It seems, at least from what I have been told, that walking into firms or calling and asking to visit is looked down upon.  What are some things that I can do to keep current and keep my skills sharp even though I am not currently working in the field?  How can I grow my professional network without coming across as desperate for a job? Any advice that anyone has to offer, would be greatly appreciated.  

Thanks!

Daniel

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant

If you present yourself the same way everyone else with similar education and experience going for the same job does, you will be one of many. If you present yourself differently, you may become one of a few.