Jobs in London

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    dan paul
    Participant

I recently moved to London England from Ontario Canada, I have successfully graduated Landscape Design from Fanshawe College, but haven’t had much real world design experience.

In Canada I worked Landscape build with a small company for 5 years and was able to practise my design work a bit there, but not to my full contentment.

Since moving to London I have found work with a landscape build company but with no hope of furthering my design work.

I am looking for advice any one might have to help get my foot in the door of Landscape Design

dan paul
    Participant

Other info I graduated in 2012 and although I have used sketch up loads I’ve been slacking on my AutoCAD so I’m spending some time to familiarize myself with it as well as getting back into following up on current landscape issues and ideas. Looking at some job postings I can’t help but feel under qualified sometimes so if anyone has any recommendations to further my education without breaking the bank I am open to hear suggestions.

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant

My opinion is that in order to get into a position to further your landscape design career, you need to focus on filling existing needs of an existing landscape designer/architect or a firm. It took me a while to understand that there is a difference between looking at your career from the inside out and looking at it from the outside in.