Landscape Architect in Architecture Office

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Landscape Architect in Architecture Office

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Matthew Latham
    Participant

I’m a landscape architect working in an architecture firm, and I’d like to hear especially from those in the same type of arrangement.  How does the relationship work?  Do you go after stand-alone landscape architecture projects, or is the primary source of work the architecture projects the firm is working on?  If you market LA services, who do you market to (generally)?  (A lot of times other architecture firms are hesitant to use another architecture firm for LA work.)  How much of a voice do you have in early stages of site planning?  I don’t know of many people in this type of arrangement so I’d like to get some perspective on things.

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant

I’m not in an architecture office, but  have worked as the sole LA in two different local civil engineering offices. We did not market landscape architecture in a very visible way because other LAs liked to stay with surveyors and engineers that did not have an LA.

I did do some design work for some landscape contractors and architects on projects that we did not do the engineering on. When that happened, I used the others title block and had our company name very low key under my name on my signature line in order to not ruffle feathers of the others … it did not do much to market, but it helped get those individual jobs. We thought about creating a separate name for LA work, but that is as far as it got.