name-style in AutoCAD?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Katherine Jacobs
    Participant

I’m applying for a job working with CAD, and one of the requirements is knowledge of name-styles. I have never heard of this, and can’t find any mention of it on the internets. Has anyone heard of such a thing?

toby
    Participant

There are cad standards for layer names.  The AIA list is probably the most recognized of all versions out there.  But knowing more than a few layer names requires experience using that standard.

http://www.cadinstitute.com/download/pdf/AIA%20Layer%20Standards.pdf

Where I work, the cad layers are predefined in the template file, but it doesn’t mean everyone puts stuff onto the correct level.  Using layers properly makes it possible for others in the office to work on files they may not have created.

I have more than a few years of cad experience and I have a standard for side work.  But if I was new to any office, I would ask for the office cad standard (or cheat sheet) and refer to it as I learn their requirements.

Katherine Jacobs
    Participant

Hah, I knew those existed but didn’t know what they were called. Thanks!

Goustan BODIN
    Participant

imo, dont let this prevent you to apply for this job, unless its a draftsman’s position. It’s one of these kind of skills you learn on the spot, by doing it. We all must learn new skills continuously in this profession.

You can grab the concept in a few hours, and use it ‘fluently’ in a project or two. Try practicing it now at home on your CAD before the interview to get more familiar with it.