Opportunities in other countries with a BLA from the U.S.?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE Opportunities in other countries with a BLA from the U.S.?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Emily Struthers
    Participant

I am considering exploring job opportunities in the U.K. and wanted to better understand the expectations and opportunities for someone (me) who has earned their undergraduate degree in Landscape Architecture. I graduated magna cum laude from the 5 year degree and obtained a minor in environmental science as well. I have internship experience at both a small Landscape Architecture Company and at a City Urban Design Center. I am also LEED Green Associate certified. 

My question is, how do my qualifications compare with what is expected to gain employment in the UK? What additional steps would you advise I pursue in order to be competitive in the UK market?

If you have experience with any other countries, I would aslo love to hear your answers!

Stephen Lovering
    Participant

Hello, In the UK you study for a 3 yr batchelors degree, then you have a year out (in theory, if you manage to get a job) and then go back for your post grad. Once you have done the 4 yrs of study you work for 2 yrs in an office and then you can become chartered LA after passing an exam (LARE possibly). There is no work there right now i dont believe but i believe the London area to be the best for work generally. The Landscape institute website has all the info you need, its the uk’s professional website. Good luck mate, if i were you i would look at going to one of the “new countries” Australia, NZ for example as the uk has no money right now.

Matthew Cool
    Participant