Plant Books for Southern California

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PLANTS & HORTICULTURE Plant Books for Southern California

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Katie Seidenwurm
    Participant

I am new to the Southern California (San Diego) area and am looking to add to my Plant Reference book library. What are your essential regional plant books besides Sunset? – Thanks.

Bob Luther
    Participant

Landscape Plants for Western Regions: An Illustrated Guide to Plants for Water Conservation by Bob Perry
    California Native Plants for the Garden by Carol Bornstein, David Fross, and Bart O’Brien

Katie Seidenwurm
    Participant

Great. Thanks.

Kimberly True
    Participant

Landscape Plants for California Gardens by Bob Perry, available online: http://landdesignpublishing.com/index.html
    Landscape Plants for Western Regions is out of print.
    Bob’s book will get you up to speed on California climate considerations and water use in addition to plants.

Katie Seidenwurm
    Participant

Great, thanks.

Drew Ready
    Participant
    Katie Seidenwurm
    Participant

That is quite a list. Thank you so much.

Mitch Howard
    Participant

A couple more books to add to what is becoming quite a comprehensive list …
    Designing California Native Gardens by Glenn Keator and Alrie Middlebrook.
    The California Garden by Jere Stuart French.
    The California Landscape Garden by Mark Francis and Andreas Reimann

Page Huyette
    Participant

One of the favorites on my shelf is “The Gardens of California” by Nancy Goslee Power. It provides great images of many major and minor southern California landscapes, with partial plant lists accompanying each project. While I was getting started on my journey into plant knowledge, this book was very inspirational to me. She also has a more recent book entitled “Power of Gardens” which I don’t have, but might be worth checking out.