Presentation board format…..help!!!

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Presentation board format…..help!!!

• This topic has 1 reply, 7 voices, and was last updated 15 years ago by nca.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Debbie James
    Participant

As a student, I am trying to figure out what is a good method in presenting my design project for a plan view of a linear urban watershed that is 6miles long. My boards or panels cannot be longer than 30×42 and I am limited on qty of 8 but can stretch it to 11 boards. I am using a cad parcel map of the area, which gives a cleaner look, but will add some context to the edges of the watershed. I am stuck because I would like to use a 1:100 scale that would show fairly good detail, but it would take a lot of boards, so I went down to 1:200 scale, but now the detail seem to be lost, but I can fit the area by using 4- 30×42 boards. Mainly, the detail would have bridges, overlooks and a sustainable discovery center with an outdoor learning garden etc. I will have some enlargements of some of the main focus on other boards. My big idea is weaving the community and secondary is a smart park or educational park along this watershed, so I think it would be important to show the entire stretch if all possible. Would anyone know how I can tackle this?

nca
    Participant

You really can’t show enought detail with 8 or even 4 40×32″ boards?? That seems like an aweful lot of detail. Maybe I’m misunderstanding your dilemma.

Michael Spencer
    Participant

I am guessing that figuring this out is part of the exercise, if an unseen part…I am thinking, along with Nick, that you have a LOT of space.

Try using your first board to show the entire site at a suitable scale and then show details? Isn’t this the straightforward way to do this? I wonder if the point of this exercise is to force you to consider how a central concept is applied to disparate parts of the site.