Question Regarding CLARB Council Record

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Question Regarding CLARB Council Record

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Brett Lezon
    Participant

I graduated last Saturday with a BLA from Ball State University.  I will begin work in Florida shortly.  I have been investigating the steps to licensure.  Should I begin a CLARB Council Record?  Looking at the benefits it seems like it would be helpful to have.  What are your thoughts?  Also, how do I begin documentation of hours worked under a registered landscape architect? 

Thank you for your insight in advance! 

Bret Ford
    Participant

Congrats on graduation and the job.

I was in your situation a few years ago and decided that a council record was an unnecessary expense.  Other people are free to disagree, of course, but I think a council record is a waste of money.  However, once you get licensed, it can save you some headache if you’re trying to get reciprocity in other states.  Personally, I would hold off.   

Theodore Tegen
    Participant

I maintain a council record, though my employer pays for it.  If it were up to me I would likely not spend the money.  I believe CLARB will transmit LARE test scores for free even if you don’t maintain a council record.  It is a nice tidy spot to keep test scores, employment history, education, and references all in one place.  If your employer will pay for it, go for it!

Wyatt Thompson, PLA
    Participant

I would get one, but not until you are ready to start taking exams. In my state I received a discount on the exam fees that more than paid for the record. I would verify that you have the same arrangement in the state you want to be licensed in. Until you’re taking exams though, I don’t see a need.

Brett Lezon
    Participant

Thank you for the responses!

Brian J Wethington
    Participant