Shifting Gears

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Candace Dorsey
    Participant

So I am a recent graduate from a BLA program and would like to move to another part of the country to gain work experience, but the problem is that in order to work somewhere else you have to know the vegetation of that particular region. Of course with all design jobs, site analysis/context is crucial but how can I make an easy change over from one part of the country to the next without a formal knowledge of site specifics (in this case vegetation)?

mauiBob
    Participant

Aloha! This is harsh but truthful. From my personal experience with entry level positions:

Forget the “formal knowledge” of regional vegetation. You’re not gonna do the plant design anyway and certainly won’t select it for use. You will learn on the job as you do the redline or setup the production work in autocad. Site analysis? Are you kidding? I didn’t even do my first “SA” until my third year as a designer.

I hope that helps. Good luck out there!

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant

Whats up? (that is the Massachusetts version of Aloha).

I agree with Bob about not needing to be fluent in regional plants in an entry level position. In a bigger firm, you’ll likely follow Bob’s description, but in a very small office you’ll do a little of everything and learn a lot more ….. if little offices were hiring. 

True to both posts.  “IF” you do a planting design, the palette will already be chosen, and you will be drafting a hand drawn planting plan. 

Also, don’t come to So Cal, I don’t need anymore competition for jobs.  Just kidding; it is almost harder looking for a PM or a Lead LA position to open up in this economy.

Candace Dorsey
    Participant

Thanks everyone for the advice – takes the pressure off a bit but we’ll see.

Anonymous
    Inactive