Still unable to get a Landscape Designer job, is it better to take a related admin or non-profit job?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE Still unable to get a Landscape Designer job, is it better to take a related admin or non-profit job?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Jordan
    Participant

Hello and Happy New Year! I am an MLA a few years out of school and have no long-term firm experience (I also did not have an opportunity to intern while in school because I studied abroad). I have been freelancing for the last few years and have some experience but have not been considered for any entry-level landscape designer jobs. I am currently pursuing a couple of full-time positions that have promise: one is an administrative position at a landscape architecture firm I would love to work for, the other is with a design-oriented non-profit I have worked with in the past and although the job is not yet defined I know there won’t be any design but it will be a good networking position. Which do you think will position me for eventually landing a good job as a landscape designer? Or should I give up trying to be a landscape designer since I can’t even get an interview for a landscape designer job? Thank you in advance for any feedback!

Leslie B Wagle
    Participant