Subtle Sexism in Design/Build- Need Advice

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE Subtle Sexism in Design/Build- Need Advice

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Catherine Riley
    Participant

I’m writing in hopes of gaining insight and advice on a sexist work environment. It’s not overtly sexist; no one is asking me to make coffee or do the dishes. I have 6 years of experience and a graduate degree in landscape architecture. I work in a small office and am the youngest by about 20 years (I’m 35). The culture is very old school/boys club and I am the only female LA in the group. The office manager is female but is accepting of the boys club atmosphere. She refuses to touch the printer and I have been put in charge of ordering paper and ink, and answering the phone if she doesn’t. I’ve had meetings with my boss about the “lesser tasks” assigned to me, such as ordering the ink and paper, and things change for about two weeks and then go back the way they were. I’m having trouble finding a different position because I am currently in design/build and don’t have the right type of experience that firms are looking for. I don’t gain experience in my current role because I am not given opportunities at work, and as a result my salary doesn’t grow. I’m caught in a catch-22.

I started my own mini design/build company this summer to create my own experiences and things are going well, but I know I don’t like design/build and long to design parks (even if its just creating construction docs). I’m installing my mini design/build projects on the weekends and meeting clients after work. I’m so eager to learn and grow and design.

Are there other female LA’s in design/build experiencing this?
    How does one get from design/build to a firm?
    How do you smash the patriarchy?
    Any advice will help!

July 12, 2019
    Hello Catherine;