Thesis

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Jason Granado
    Participant

Ok guys like my previous post, I am a student getting my graduate degree in LA.  I am about a year away from starting my thesis, but I am currently trying to discover something that I will be able to conduct my thesis about. I am currently looking into how landscape architects can use their ability of design in a sense of defensive architecture. how landscape architects are used within the military on site design, cartography and any other aspect.

I know as of right now the topic is huge and my thoughts are still scattered,and thats ok. but if anyone has any thoughts or advice or anything else they would like to lend into this research I apreciate it very much.  I will be using this thread to hold all my thoughts and post any research that I find.

jason

P.s. post what your thesis was about would be nice to find any correlations.

Matt Sprouse
    Participant

search the online UGA library for Philip Wislar’s thesis on this subject in 1998.  He now has a consultant business in this field near DC.

Tosh K
    Participant

The Corps is your best source, if you can get them to open up; contemporary practice may be more difficult.  McHarg might be interesting to look into.  Robert E Lee’s service in the Corps may show some examples of what is now landscape architecture (both in war time Mexico and in peace time fortification repairs and the realigning of the flow of the Mississippi at St Louis).

Thesis: Cultivating sustained environmental ethics in the everyday urban landscape (a case study in my ongoing study of phenomenology and sustainability, designing toward an embodied sustained environmental ethic).