Value of a Planning Degree for a Landscape Architect

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums STORY BOARD Value of a Planning Degree for a Landscape Architect

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Winston Mitchell
    Participant

I am a student about to graduate with a Masters of Urban Planning, and I hold a bachelors of Landscape Architecture. I am trying to figure out how to come up with a baseline for salary expectations, as the two fields are so closely related. I have been interning this summer with a large private engineering firm in the design and planning division, and one of the best aspects of the firm is the ability to work on both Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning projects.
    My problem is I am unsure what kind of salary I should be aiming for. From all the data I have seen, entry level positions with a masters of Landscape Architecture are about $7,000 to $8,000 greater than entry level positions with just a bachelors. I will have a masters, but it is not in Landscape Architecture. Starting salaries with a masters of Urban Planning are about on par with bachelors of Landscape Architecture, but since they are closely related, I don’t know whether I should try to shoot for a salary similar to an entry level MLA with my MUP, or whether I have essentially gotten a masters degree that has no value in terms of negotiating salary.
    The issue is even murkier because the two full time planners in the Landscape Architecture group have bachelors of Landscape Architecture, even though they work as planners now. Does anybody have any advice or insight?

nca
    Participant