Visiting California

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    Nick Harper
    Participant

As a UK Landscape Architect I am visiting Californian coast between San Diego and Monterrey. Can anyone make suggestions as to significant design work in the area that I should see?

mauiBob
    Participant

WOW!! From San Diego (my favorite city on earth) to San Fran area? Too many to list. Getty Center in L.A. is a nice start. Visit the Irvine Spectrum where highways I-5 & 405 meet in Irvine. I worked on that shopping mall as a Cadd and sketch monkey. Monterey and Carmel is a treat on its own.

Have fun!

Trace One
    Participant

the Getty – landscape design (NOT by an LA of course..) is pretty interesting..after that, Big Sur cliff walk – otters!  SF you can do a really fun ‘staircase gardens ‘ tour – you can look it up on-line..

personally not enthusiastic about Ca design, plant palette, etc..Be prepared to drive at 80mph everywhere being tailgated by a line of twenty cars, twelve feet behind your bumper..fun…not…

Hop over to NY, and see the real stuff.

Oh, Gilroy Gardens is pretty cute if you have kids..

Nick Harper
    Participant

Thanks for response. Really looking forward to seeing San Diego.

Nick Harper
    Participant

Thanks for the info. Driving in LA was a challenge last time I visited, even 20 years of driving in London was no preparation. The habitats and plant palettes of California are very different from those of northern temperate Europe so should be good learning for me. I will come to New York but crave some sunshine and fresh for the moment. I will look up Gilroy Gardens, thank you.

Christopher Patzke
    Participant

It’s not a landscape but I would not miss the Monteray Aquarium.  The shore bird exhibit is delightful.

Thomas J. Johnson
    Participant

Noguchi’s California Scenario –

http://inthelandscape.com/2010/05/isamu-noguchis-california-scenario-costa-mesa-ca/