What do you really get out of social networking?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums RESEARCH What do you really get out of social networking?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Adam Regn Arvidson
    Participant

This is perhaps an unconventional thread, but in the spirit of “form follows function” I’ll give it a shot.

I am a freelance writer / landscape architect and I am working on a short piece for Landscape Architecture Magazine about social networking in general and this site specifically. Since this article is about e-connections, I am forgoing my usual phone/in-person interview process and asking a few questions to the general population here. Please weigh in if you feel like it, but know that you might be quoted….
    — Why did you join this network?
    — What specific benefits have you seen in your career since you joined?
    — What intangible benefits do you get from membership?
    — What do you hope this network will bring to your career?
    Feel free to answer any and all. Thanks for indulging me this editorial research experiment, and I look forward to your comments.

Deborah Christman
    Participant

–Why did you join this network?
    I took a few classes with Andrew S. and I always found him to be an intelligent and creative soul. So when he invited me, I thought it would be interesting to get other like-minded and unlike-minded individuals’ thoughts on landscape architecture.

I am still a student, but I have gotten a few ideas on design and sustainability. I also am finding out more about “how things work” in the real world.

I am curious about people in general. It is interesting to “meet” people from many areas and in many stages in their careers.

Soon I will actually retire from my present job and dive into the world of landscape architecture. Maybe I will make a connection through this network. If nothing else, I hope I will continue to learn from other people’s entries.

Les Ballard