What is the best modeling/rendering software for landscape design?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION What is the best modeling/rendering software for landscape design?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Alexandra H
    Participant

I believe a variation of this question was asked a few months ago, but from a student’s perspective.  I have been in the job force for the last 3 years and have been tasked with evaluating different software, mainly with the objective of producing professional digital renderings for clients.  I have some experience with Autodesk impressions but found it limited.  Are there any suggestions on what may be the best/most user friendly programs for this purpose? 

Alexandra H
    Participant

Examples of renderings completed with various software by repliers would be highly appreciated!

Thnx.

Jordan Lockman
    Participant

Do you want something that is integrated with your construction Drawings?

Alexandra H
    Participant

Not necessarily… more like presentation pieces such as plans and perspectives.

ida
    Participant

Usually the most user friendly program is not the best program to use. It’s like doing construction drawings with Windows Paint. Yes Win Paint is easy, but by no means a good tool for a professional and serious task.

For rendering landscapes, the best combination of modeling and rendering programs is to use 3dsMax, Vue, and Vray for 3dsMax. The learning curve is steep, but not impossible. Once you know those programs, your work will be presented in the best way. Your efficiency will also improve because you won’t have to spend so much time photoshoping vegetation and you can render multiple views overnight while you sleep.

An example of what these programs can do would be any digitally done movie such as Avatar, or just look at any professional rendering company’s catalog.

Alexandra H
    Participant

Thanks!

April Prey
    Participant