What is your favorite fountain?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums RESEARCH What is your favorite fountain?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Patty Lundeen Hume
    Participant

I am a water feature/ landscape designer and I am doing some research on
    fountains + memory. I would appreciate it if you took my brief
    survey. I will be sharing the highlights of my research on my
    blog http://whereintheworldispatty.com

Link to Survey:

http://bit.ly/bJeiW9

Thanks!

Patty Lundeen Hume

Trace One
    Participant

nice question, thank you, Patty..I am really partial to the fountains leading up to the Phila Museum of Art, for one..Big rectangular bins of water going up the steps, on either side, great views, and all the little kids jumping in, in the heat of the summer..

Jason T. Radice
    Participant

I don’t think I have ever seen those working. So much so, I though they were permanently out of commission!

Trace One
    Participant

Wow, Jason! embarassing! my memory is from no later than 1990, the last time I was in Philly..they worked then! I actually ‘swam’ in them myself – tried to dip my dog in, and ended up taking the plunge. They are really an odd shape for water elements..too bad they don’t go anymore..

Jason T. Radice
    Participant

I’ve been there many times over the past decade (I don’t live there), and have never seen them working. The urns below the museum, yes, the fountains on the stairs no. They had always been drained. Maybe they were just off for the day. I’m going up there on Saturday, I’ll have to drive by and look!

Landon Davidson
    Participant
    nca
    Participant

I’m a pretty big fan of Halprins ‘fountains’/water features. Too bad we really cant design places like those anymore thanks to initiatives like CPTED…d’oh!..forgot this is a fountains discussion.

Boilerplater
    Participant