What’s a Designer to do?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Jess S.
    Participant

Hi All! I’ve gotten so much informative help from this site, so thank you. My question is: I am a practicing landscape designer, specifically higher end residential at a small firm, with a degree in Studio Art (BS) from NYU. I’m looking to expand my opportunities and possibly try for my MLA, with the intention of increasing my technical, ecological and sociological knowledge, but I do have a good amount of design/artistic experience and a couple years of professional experience. My concern is that I’ll come up against a wall in a few years (career wise) without having had real technical training if I don’t return to school. But I don’t want to spend my time in classes learning what I already know or can learn (partially) in the field, and of course we’re talking more loans here 🙂 Is going the MLA road looking out for my future? Thanks to anybody who can take the time to reply!

nca
    Participant

I’ve shared my story here a few times and it’s probably getting a little old, but anyway…I was a landscape designer/contractor prior to returning to school for my BSLA in 2004. Andrew G knows probably all too well about the conflict I was facing similar to yours back then when contemplating leaving relatively successful positions as a landscape designer and micro-business owner.

I had nearly an identical mentality to yours-feeling that I had a solid understanding of the breadth and scope of a landscape architect/designer, but also shared the concern that I would be limiting myself professionally by not at least exploring the opportunity to further my education as a landscape architect.

I’d say the greatest piece of knowledge I gained while in school was the vast opportunities available as a landscape architect whihc I was not aware of prior to attending. In other words, going to school opened up a world of new opportunites to advance my career.