What’s it like working in your office

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE What’s it like working in your office

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Michael Coyle
    Participant

I’m still relatively new in the field (about 2 years experience) and I’m curious to know how other offices function. I’m sure it depends on the level of experience and the type of office but I would like to get a general feel for how other offices operate.

A little about my working environment:

Currently, I work at a small (5 employee) residential/hospitality design firm with each person basically being their own department in the business.  I am the one who is most consistently in the office working on plans, renderings, correspondence, and even a little marketing/advertising.  There is also the principal, the operations manager, the project/field manager, and a part-time designer to share some of the work load.  I enjoy my position and the level of work but I fear there isn’t a well-balanced system of checks-and-balances.  Overall I get the opportunity to have my opinion heard and to work on some really interesting design projects.

Michael;

I worked for a Dallas LA firm for about 13 yrs…that firm was set up much the way yours is.  When I joined the firm, there were 4 LA’s….it grew to approx. 40 LA’s.  But, still…over the years, every LA handled pretty much 100% of every aspect of each project.  There were 2 Partners & then, everyone else. 

I became the firm’s first Associate…and was situated just below the 2 Partners – but, I never really got any “back-up” on projects…back then, everything was “by hand”.  I did my own base sheets, sketching, prelim. designs, renderings, final drawings, most meetings and job inspections.