when it all makes sense?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

I graduated in May and began working with a great residential LA firm.  I was always told in school that they will basically teach us the basics, and when you enter the working field, a lot of stuff would be new to us.  I have found there words to be fairly true.  So far in my career I really do not design anything.  Rather I do a lot of construction drawings (layout, sections, paving, drainage….).  So my question is to those who can remember when they really started to “get” things?  When do drawing details of things become second nature?  I feel like i have to ask a ton of questions on sections that I am drawing.  Do these things start to come together the more i draw them, or is it a matter of actually seeing some of these things built?  I really like the firm that I am working with, and I feel as if they really like me so it is not that bad to ask the questions.  But at which point in your careers did they kind of let you start designing, meeting with clients, and meeting on site to resolve issues and such..?

Thanks!

toby
    Participant

Your kid probably knows how to drive.  But would you trust them to do so ?

As you mention in a previous post, you’re looking to maybe start your own firm.  Would you hire a fresh out of school grad to sell and design for you, or would you confine them to learning the nuts and bolts of the operation?

Your boss probably knows you can sell and design, but should he put that trust into you before you learn the nuts and bolts of his operation ?

Just bide your time, prove your abilities, and things you want will eventually happen.

Anonymous
    Inactive