Working from home…

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    nca
    Participant

I started working from home for my current employer several months ago, but I have been telecommuting since I was a student, when I interned at  firm 65 miles from campus.

In my opinion, it’s both a blessing and a curse, as working in your underwear can be nice, but not having the sense of comraderie and studio environment to deliberate ideas and solutions can sometimes be difficult and less productive.

I wonder how many offices allow amployees to work from home? If not, why?

If you are able to work from home, do you feel generally more, less, or equally productive?

For employees or employers, have you found that allowing employees to work form home has allowed for some overhead savings and efficiency?

I wonder if it might be time for the practice of LA to evolve . Perhaps the days of large, corporate firms are in decline and the days of spare bedroom startups and co-op-style groups will become the norm.

What do you think?

Eric Gilbey
    Participant

Nick, Your post is intriguing and I say this after just last week thinking about the promotion of Bike to Work Day/Week. I was thinking about the idea of taking that same idea and promoting the idea of not only biking, but walking, bussing, light rail, car pooling, etc. And it came to mind the idea of telecommuting as a way to save resources…particularly when we are in a time with furloughs, 4 ten hour days and such to see the workplace save money on energy bills, etc. So there is another angle…besides the convenience of “working in your underwear”, it can be an energy saving alternative.