Working in Asia vs in Western Countries as a Landscape Architect

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Working in Asia vs in Western Countries as a Landscape Architect

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Benjamin Loh
    Participant

I wonder if anybody here able to share with me your experience and advice.

I have been working in Asia for about 10 years now (Malaysia, Singapore and now China) and a couple of years in  New Zealand. In my experience, working for long crazy hours just to meet deadlines is pretty common in most of the private practices in Asia. Time spent on designing is reduced to sheer draughting.

Is this the norm in Australia, UK and US? 

Tosh K
    Participant

In the US it depends on the firm.  I’ve worked at places with 12hr work days almost exclusively on design (upper tier), some larger firms where 50/wk is normal but spread out from design through construction admin -site visits, submittals, RFIs (upper tier)- though the work type was more specialized (each person had a role) , smaller firms with the whole range and needing to do everything all the time.

Since the recession I think clients want more for less, leading to longer hours (and less pay); but things have gotten better.  I’ve gotten some quality time sketching/modelling on some projects where the client clearly understands the value of design.

Robert Anderson
    Participant

It has been some time but I too have personal experience working in China and I can honestly say it was a lot of work and often without a weekend off.

Meanwhile here in the US in my extensive experience there are seldom times where I had to work on a Saturday let alone and entire weekend. We might work more than forty hours a week but that too is a far cry short of the long hours in China.