Author: Hugh Ryan

Contact us if you are interested in joining our team as a writer on the subject of landscape architecture.

Results of Slant Garden Design Award 2011

The First Prize in the Slant Garden Design Award has been won by Ricardo Alexandre Lime Gomes & Daniela dos Santos Silva (Portugal) for their project entitled Douro Valley Garden and full details can be viewed on where you can also view full details on the 6 highly commended projects and the remainder of the short list. Your comments will be very welcome, and you can also follow us on Facebook at

International Student Competition





International Competition for Students of Landscape Architecture

The international competition for the SLANT AWARDS is being held this year for the first time and on this occasion is aimed exclusively at students of Landscape Architecture and Landscape Design worldwide.

The central idea behind this challenge is that the project in question is a “virtual project”, one that has been created specifically for this competition.

What you are being invited to do is to create a concept design for a public park, one which will not only serve the needs of the citizens of this city, but which will also aim to achieve iconic status and in so doing will enhance the international reputation of the city. You will see from the brief that we are looking here at urban renewal, with the project being set on a vacant site in a riverside location.

This competition has been designed to offer students an interesting challenge with what we believe are interesting rewards, and we have tried to keep it as simple as possible.

You may enter as often as you like, either as an individual, or in a team of two or three, and if you register and pay before 22 April 2011 you can avail of a reduced entry fee.
Each entry must be accompanied by the appropriate fee, and remember you have up to 10 June 2011 to make your final submission.

Deadline for submissions: 10 June 2011
Full details on

First Prize Euro 3,000
Second Prize Euro 1,500
Third Prize Euro 750

Jury Members
John Brookes (UK),
Ulf Nordfjell (Sweden)
Paolo L Bürgi (Switzerland)

Hugh Ryan.
Competition Moderator

Lost Password