An overqualified entry-level?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Woodman336
    Participant

I have been working as a project designer for 7+ years overseas and will be returning to the states soon. I have been looking at many job listings for mid to senior-level positions in America and they all require construction documentation and management experience. My problem is that I have none of these skills since I have been mainly been doing concept and schematic designs while working overseas (with very few built work). So my question is, are my many years working as a project designer overseas meaningless? Do I basically need to go back to square one as an entry-level? Will anyone in America even hire an entry-level who has worked 7+ years? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Leslie B Wagle
    Participant