Attempting the Modern “Grand Tour” – Any Travel tips and Advice?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Attempting the Modern “Grand Tour” – Any Travel tips and Advice?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Amy Ng
    Participant

Hello Everyone,

I recently quit my job to do some traveling before I finish the UC Berkeley Extension Landscape Architecture program. I would really appreciate some travel advice on places to see and tips for traveling by yourself. I’ve been dreaming about traveling ever since I graduated from college eons ago and now is my chance!

My current itinerary include Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto in April. I’ll be in Europe for the month of May and so far on my list is Paris, Rome, Florence, Sienna, and the ones I’m still deciding on are Athens and Barcelona. So if you have been to Europe or Japan or have heard about great places there, please send me any and all comments and tips. It would be appreciated.
    I can’t think of a better way to advance my knowledge of landscape than to see and feel it in person.

Thanks!
    Amy

Andrew Spiering
    Participant

You are awesome! Sounds like a great trip… I think Jim Chappell would be a good resource! Also, my wife and I just went this last summer to Italy and saw some fantastic places…

Venice- Piazza San Marco
    Santa Margherita & Portofino – Everywhere
    Lucca – the wall and gardens (rent a bike), Piazza San Michelle, Piazza Napoleoni
    Sienna – Central plaza
    Rome – uhh… lots! Although I really liked the Campidoglio

Kevin J. Gaughan
    Participant