BIM…?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Andrew Spiering
    Participant

BIM stands for Building Information Modeling and it looks like this is the direction the industry is going. However, I have zero experience with it and know very little. Does anyone have experience with BIM and could they tell me a little about it?

Thanks!

Eric Gilbey
    Participant

Because the understanding of BIM is less of a known entity to landscape architects, it might be easier to learn about it from architecture cad technology writer, such as Jerry Laiserin, who writes for Cadylist…see the following link

http://aec.cadalyst.com/aec/article/articleDetail.jsp?id=470080&sk=&date=&pageID=3

Keep your eyes out though, the information modeling aspect for sites (landscapes) continues to approach, as some landscape architects have already been using bim-like technology on their site related projects, and we just haven’t seen a global recognition of it as such…yet.

Ryland Fox
    Participant

Basically it is about integration of the whole design/building process. With BIM everything is contained within on e file. Instead of having a 2D file, a 3d model and external costings, schedules, maintenance documents etc, one file contains everything and everything within that file is linked so that if you change say a material used from metal to brick your costings, details, specifications, schedules etc change automatically. This negates the need to access other files and keeps everything on the same update. Theoretically this should reduce time spent in updating a variety of documents and make it easier to keep everyone from designers, manufacturers and builders on the same page. I use Digital Projects, which is a adaptation of CATIA, a parametric design software developed by the aerospace industry. http://www.gehrytechnologies.com