Does Anyone Watch HGTV Or FLN?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Bob Luther
    Participant

Just wondering if anyone watches the landscape and landscape design shows on HGTV, FLN, PBS etc. Are you watching them because they are entertaining (due to good or bad design), they are educational, or just to see what others are doing? If you are watching, what are you watching and why? Maybe there are some shows we should or shouldn’t be watching.

Thanks

Bob

nca
    Participant

I watched ‘landscapers challenge’ on HGTV before I went back to school for Landscape Architecture when I was a landscape designer/contractor and built my own residential work. I stopped watching mostly due to lack of free time and then every place I have lived since about 2006 has not had cable television, so watching HGTV hasn’t really been an option.

When I do get a chance to tune in to an episode of Landscapers challenge, ground force, design on a dime, curb appeal, whatever shows are hosted nowadays on design I feel that design professions are miscommunicated to the public as being entirely about fashion, style, and flair. Although, I think if they made a show on what day-to-day design really is the general public would tune out or die of boredom.

I always thought a good reality tv show would be something like, ‘design school’ where cameras follow the lives of landscape architecture, arch, or (any for that matter) design students within their program and day-to-day lives. The arguments, meltdowns, deadlines, and heady lectures could make for pretty good tv. Add in some good looking, outspoken young twenty-somethings and I think you’ve got a hit.