Does starting your own business hurt your chances of being hired?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Does starting your own business hurt your chances of being hired?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Jonathan Smith, RLA
    Participant

I graduated from the University of Idaho in 2008 and, as there were few firms hiring at that point, started a design/build business. Meanwhile, I have applied for every position I can find, that I qualify for, since then.  All the while, my business is growing.

My question is:  Am I hurting my chances of eventually being hired if I own my own business?  Will employers avoid me because they don’t want to train their next competitor?

I never envisioned myself as a business owner (though it seems to be working out alright) and through school, always anticipated working for someone else.

I don’t mind working for myself, but having never learned from working for someone else, there is a huge knowledge gap that school doesn’t prepare you for

Jonathan Smith, RLA
    Participant

If you wouldn’t mind explaining where you come from, Russell, then maybe I can get a better perspective on your answer. For your perspective, I’m in my early thirties, have a family and ambition to succeed that has more to do with working on the type of projects that have the potential to leave the world a little better when I’m done. Idealistic? Yes, but it the same reason I pursued education earlier in life.

The market I now work in is small and the work I do is relegated to small residential design/build projects. With little room to move up the food chain.

Adding to this is the tremendous knowledge gap that exists when you jump in with both feet directly after graduating. I had little choice in this matter, though, as no firms were hiring and I wanted to pursue a career track that included landscape design.