feel like a typewritter salesman circa 1994?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION feel like a typewritter salesman circa 1994?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Hans C Stoll
    Participant

Maybe its just Arizona, but trying to explain my industry at this time, to my friends in other industries….. I often say it feels like I am a typewritter salesman at the advent of the word-processor.

Keith Jankovsky
    Participant

elaborate please.

nca
    Participant

who’s got the word-processor?

Hans C Stoll
    Participant

(elaboration: Trying to sell a service or product that few people feel they want or need at this time)

Not sure who has the word-processor yet. Have one friend who is an RLA and has decided to chase Pharamcy as a career instead. Another RLA is becoming a teacher. Odd trend, ditching Landscape Architecture for something 100% un-related.

Frank Varro
    Participant

It’s really more of a service few people KNOW they need. Most don’t know that a good landscape can (when the market starts to get back on its feet) increase your home value by, i seem to remember the number being in the neighborhood of, 5-15%. And that’s for private homes.

The way i describe LA: In every city you have buildings, and everything else. Some one has to design EVERYTHING else- that’s my job. Whether its a road, a park, a plaza, or a yard, that’s what LAs do.

nca
    Participant

To be honest I feel like your friends may have been in the wrong profession to begin with to go from LA to pharmacy..wow. I wonder what percentage of the current LA’s would make a switch like this? Could be good for those that stay.

Jon Quackenbush
    Participant

LA to Pharm? My guess is they probably wanted to be within arms reach of ulcer and depression meds…

Jon Quackenbush
    Participant

That is a pretty good generic summary of what we do.

Jon Quackenbush
    Participant