graphics tablet

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Charles Taylor
    Participant

Looking for feedback in regard to using a graphics tablet instead of a mouse. I have been having tendonitis bigtime in my right arm. I am left handed and it has been suggested to try a tablet. Question-can I use a tablet effectively for autocad, sketchup, etc. I know it works well for photoshop. Also, what brand and size? I understand most use a wacom intuos4 but will the cheaper bamboo work just as well as a mouse replacement?

nca
    Participant

If you have tendonitis in your elbow/shoulder or even wrist I think a tablet would only exacerbate the problem. Can you draw without pain? I’d say you’d be better off with a trackball mouse which require very little movement at all. Also, a tablet with software like autocad isn’t very practical.

I’ve been using a tablet and mouse for about four years. I use a wacom intuos. good luck.

Charles Taylor
    Participant

I can draw fine with my left hand and have no discomfort. How does a tablet work with sketchup?

nca
    Participant

Not very well in my experience. I prefer to use a mouse with sketchup and autocad. A former coworker used a trackball for everything. The other advantage of using a trackball is that no one will use your machine when youre out of office.

I’d suggest using a tablet for just about anything else though, so long as you can move your shoulder, elbow and wrist without severe pain.

Ryan Tow
    Participant

I had the same issue come up with a mouse – switching to a trackball solved my problems. It allowed me to put my arm in a stationary position, and after seven years of trackball use, I don’t have any further issues with my arm.

I also use a Wacom tablet (I’m mostly 3dsmax, with a smattering of Autocad) – I’d have difficulty using the tablet as my primary pointing device, though.

Hope that helps.

Ryan A. Waggoner
    Participant