Guiding My Career Path

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author

I have been working for the past 3 years as a landscape designer in the Denver area. I have been working in the industry for about 10 years, and graduated with my BLA in 2008. I really enjoy the diverse lifestyle of design build. I love meeting new people, even the crazy ones, and splitting up field time and desk time is great for me. I ultimately would love to open my own company, but feel that I lack the capitol to do so now.

I am currently working for a small design build company. I took this latest position because it was presented to me as if I was going to have control over my clients and be given the freedom to design and manage my projects, within their framework, as I see fit. I have been very successful with other companies in the area, and that is why I was offered the job, to help grow their business. So far that has not been the case. The owner is a nice guy, but mentality closed off. They have been doing the same thing for 30 years and just can’t see the benefit of being flexible, or trying something new.

Is it worth staying with this company even though I don’t see a future here? I would love some feedback from folks who have opened their own design build offices. I know of other designers who open small design offices without the build aspect and market themselves as “Landscape Designer, Consultants and Project Managers”.

I should also mention that my boyfriend, who I met in school, does the same thing, and finds himself frustrated with the way his company runs their office too.

Thanks for your advice!

Rick Spalenka
    Participant