How are all of these programs used???

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums TECHNOLOGY How are all of these programs used???

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    ERIC HAGBERG
    Participant

What is the purpose of Illustrator, InDesign, Photoshop, Acrobat, etc. for designing landscapes? I use AutoCAD, DynaScape and SketchUp to design, and typically hand render everything. I’ve seen YouTube videos of Photoshop being used to render plans that were developed in CAD, and so I can see how Photoshop would come in handy, and I am just starting to learn Photoshop. However, I’m not familiar with some of these other programs. Just about every job posting I see is looking for someone who knows how to use all of these programs. Do landscape architects really use all of these programs on a regular basis? Besides rendering, what for? Any good links to YouTube videos (or other) that show how some of these programs are used for landscape architecture?

earthworker
    Participant

Illustrator: Used for assembling large/small scale plans, renderings etc. Transforms images into high res vector graphics which are scalable.

Photoshop:  Used for marketing graphics, renderings, illustrations, photo manipulations.  Essential for any LA professional.  Learn it.

InDesign:  Used for multi-page, color documents such as HOA guidelines, arch guidelines, portfolios, pamphlets, brochures and layout design.

Acrobat Writer: Used for creating pdf’s of nearly everything.  Essential for any firm.

LA firms use most if not all of these programs and more.

Tosh K
    Participant

lllustrator – illustrative refining of vector (line) graphics, diagramming

InDesign – sheet/book layout; learn to use spell check well.

Photoshop – manipulation of raster images (often photos/renderings)

Acrobat – PDF document refinement/presentation; allows for “slideshows” of pdfs, which when created in InDesign allows for more control and refinement than powerpoint.