How do you start building a professional portfolio?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PORTFOLIO & RESUME How do you start building a professional portfolio?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Yali Zhang
    Participant

I am a new grad from L.A program of my university, and while I am looking for a job with my portfolio encompassed with academic projects, I started to wonder how to build a professional portfolio from professional work?  What I mean is in the portfolio should be a collection of my work, with my school projects i am the one who designed the site and rendered the graphics, which would showcase my design and technical skills that would convince the employer to hire me.  But as I move on to the professional world, I should rebuild my portfolio with professional work instead of school work, however as an entry level landscape architect, I would assume I won’t be doing any design for a while.  Instead as I hear from my friends from earlier classes who are already working, they mostly assist with drafting and filing projects.  So this is where my question stems from, I won’t really have my work to show in my portfolio.  If I helped to render a project, the design is someone else’s, so can I put it in my portfolio? Even then my portfolio would probably consist of pieces of rendering work, and would represent me more like a draftsman instead of designer.  So as an emerging professional, how can you build professional portfolio with professional work that tells the story of your design?  Thanks!

Mark Di Lucido
    Participant