Job in San Clemente, CA

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Evan Burbridge
    Participant

Dear Land 8 members,

I am a landscape architecture student at the University of Idaho.  I will (hopefully) be finished with my MLA degree in the spring of 2013.  I have however found an awesome job the has just became available in my hometown of San Clemente, CA.  Unfortunately I won’t be able to apply for this job at this time.  I am posting this here because I don’t think this job has been made widely apparent.  San Clemente is dealing with rapid suburbanization and needs the direction of a landscape architect, instead of an engineer or a planner.  Check it out, its a great place to live.  

Best of luck,

Evan

http://agency.governmentjobs.com/sanclemente/default.cfm?action=viewjob&JobID=553275&headerfooter=1&WDDXJobSearchParams

Roland Beinert
    Participant

This would be perfect for me if I had two more years of experience and a license. Then again, if I had two more years of experience an a license, I probably would already have a job in landscape architecture.

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant

You are in Idaho and have a degree in landscape architecture Roland – do they now require internship there?

Roland Beinert
    Participant

I see where you’re going with this. And now that I have a (non-landscape arch.) job again, maybe I can save up enough money to take the LARE then transer my license to other states. But there’s still the whole 4 year barrier to overcome. It seems like when I finished my bachelors degree everyone said entry level was 0-2 years, but everyone wanted someone with two years. Now four years is considered entry level by some. Ugh.

When I had a landscape arch. job back in ’08 I was working on getting my license, but when I was laid off it seemed pointless and expensive.

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant