LA projects in Minneapolis

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Vanessa Ruiz
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I am a student, and will be traveling to Minneapolis this winter. While I’m there, I would love to visit any landscape architecture projects that you all might recommend checking out. I will be walking around a lot I’m sure, so I hope to stumble on some interesting places on my own, but a few pointers would be great since my online search has been just slightly fruitful.
    Much appreciated,
    Vanessa
    Thomas J. Johnson
    Participant

Tom Oslund has an exceptional design studio in Minneapolis. He lectured at Colorado State in 2008 and I had the good fortune of enjoying dinner with him and the other leaders of the SCASLA. Very nice guy. He does work all over the country but one project in MN that sticks out in my memory is the I35 Bridge reconstruction and memorial. If I were to find myself in the area, it would be on the top of my list of sites to visit along with Gold Medal Park, which if I remember correctly, isn’t far from the bridge, but don’t quote me on that. He also did some really neat things at the Twins Stadium, so check that out too. Even if you’re not a baseball person you’ll enjoy the unique design elements.

Have fun!!

http://www.oaala.com/index.htm

http://www.oaala.com/projects/gold_medal_park/gold_medal.htm
    http://www.oaala.com/projects/I35bridge/i35bridge.htm
    http://www.oaala.com/projects/Twins/twins.htm

Terry DeWan, FASLA
    Participant

There is SO much so see and experience! You may want to start by getting the back issue of Landscape Architecture Magazine when the Annual Meeting was held there a in 2006

http://www.asla.org/nonmembers/lam/lam_index06/lam_m.htm

DOn’t miss Michael Van Valkenburg Minneapolis sculpture garden.

Another firm’s work to explore is Coen + Partners:

http://www.coenpartners.com/work/urban/minneapolis-central-library/