Land Planning HELP!

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    nca
    Participant

I’m a fifth year LA student working on my undergrad capstone project. I’m choosing to take an urban design/land planning approach focusing on a new “town center” for a rapidly growing primarily agriculturally based rural community. The focus area is roughly 300 acres with an established county road main street and very nearby river paralleling.

My hangup is that there is seemingly little in the way of obvious physical cues due to work with due to it being a rural area. Our program doesn’t particularly teach to community planning (one very short semester in urban design). I’m looking for any guidance on basic starting points land planners may use in such an instance in developing a framework for a well composed mixed density town center. I’m not necessarily looking for ideas for how to approach this site, but general insight into the physical design process for such a project ie 1) layout street grid, 2)overlay public space 3)diagram building density/intensity…???

I’m finding myself drawing in circles and having a hard time getting past the diagram phase. I have a decent idea of how I want the space to be used and the different programmatic functions, I just don’t feel confident in the process of implementing the ideas on paper.

Could some of you experienced in this type of work share your process (and if the process is different for each project perhaps share the process of one of those) or point out some good resources for the actual physical design process of communities and towns?

Thank You!

Nick

David J. Chirico
    Participant

I am sure you want this project to be the pinnacle of your work, and are shooting for a pie in the sky layout so take this information as a loose guide and not a boundary or restriction.