MAC or PC?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Irene Brady Barber
    Participant

I’m entering into the software world for new ideas of what is the latest cutting edge, professional grade and convenient design software.  I heard MAC just got a CAD program recently?  Different from one out there before?  What is it called and all about?  I’m primarily a residential designer with possibility expanding and also working for Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens as Therapeutic Horticulture Program coordinator.

Steve Mercer
    Participant

I use BricsCAD (autocad clone) and LandFX and SketchUP Pro  (All PC)  Autodesk recently released Autocad for the Mac but It has a lot of catching up to do to be on par with the PC platform.  The PC paltform is till the platform of choice for most desigers.

s.

Irene Brady Barber
    Participant

Thank you for your input. 

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant

The Mac program that you probably heard about was likely Vectorworks.

Steve Mercer
    Participant

VectorWorks is not new to the Mac is it Andrew?  He sounds like he is talking about AutoCAD for the Mac.  It is the only recent addition that I am aware of.

s.

Eric Gilbey
    Participant

Steve, You’re right…Vectorworks has been on a Mac since it started out as MiniCAD in 1985. AutoCAD did once have a Mac version then pulled out of the Mac world until just coming back in this year.

Irene, I have used AutoCAD for many years, but started using Vectorworks Landmark just over 3 years ago and absolutely love it. I believe Vectorworks has a user group in Maine, and you could contact them to gain their experiences in using it for residential and non-residential garden design.

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant