Need to update in CAD drawing and rendering

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums TECHNOLOGY Need to update in CAD drawing and rendering

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Isabel Schank
    Participant

Hi everybody, 

I am a landscape architect with 12 years working experience on and off the landscape profession. Actually I have been 5 years OUT of office, and I need to get back IN. So I have the basis of AutoCAD and 3D but since technologies move faster than the moon, I need to update on this. What is most used in CAD drawing nowadays, and any tips on where to make a quick re-immersion study for 1-2 months, other than homework.

any recommendation will be highly appreciated. courses, classes, self-teaching, programs…software.

Thanks in advance!

Jonathan Corbett
    Participant

Leading design software companies like Autodesk have increasingly focused most of their development efforts these days around modern “BIM” ready software like Revit and so the dinosaur that is AutoCAD seems to have been pushed to the side to pick up the occasional leftover feature “scraps” previously developed and used by the BIM flagship programs.  

That being said, we landscape architects still heavily use AutoCAD since our way forward in the BIM world is just starting and not as “clearly” laid out as the Architects and Engineers currently have it.  In many offices these days, 3D programs like sketchup and sometimes Rhino are the workhorses of almost all 3D modeling while AutoCAD still handles the plan and detail drafting and construction drawing sheet production.  Here is information about where AutoCAD is these days.