Need User Friendly Residential Landscape Design Application

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums TECHNOLOGY Need User Friendly Residential Landscape Design Application

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    ry
    Participant

I’m new to this world! Can anyone recommend a user-friendly computer program for design of residential backyards? I know, I know…stupid question. BUT, I’m just wanting to learn the most widely/professionally accepted program. I’m tired of graph paper. Thanks!

Eric Gilbey
    Participant

ry, there is an excellent design application you should try…Vectorworks Landmark. It is developed for landscape designers and landscape architects. After using AutoCAD for over 12 years, and now using Vectorworks Landmark, I would highly recommend it. You have the ability to do everything 2D, but in far less time, since it is already illustrated as you progress. If your design requires 3D modeling, you can acheive this with not much more effort, and can produce flyovers and walkthroughs. Some rendering techniques allow you to maintain the hand drawn look, too. You can request an online demo from their website (vectorworks.net) Good luck with your transition!

nca
    Participant

Generally, the industry standard for 2d drafting is AutoCAD. Used in conjunction with software add-ons like LandFX, cad becomes a very efficient and powerful tool for creating drawings. I have also heard good things about Landmark by Vectorworks, but never tried it.

I do have to add though- Any cad program is no substitute for a good design process and thinking.

Clayton Munson
    Participant