Oceanfront communities & Non-buildable lots

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums RESEARCH Oceanfront communities & Non-buildable lots

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    RMcAlister
    Participant

I’m a masters student researching a common issue of non-buildable lots for oceanfront communities (population size does not matter).  If anyone has acted as a planner or worked on planning studies for these types of communities what were your recommendations for developing a proactive approach to make these properties re-buildable?   I am trying to come up with recommendations for a proactive approach to rebuilding these properties despite common influences. (i.e. beach re-nourishment)  If anyone has recommendations or has worked on studies for these types of communities please feel free to post or contact me directly at rmcalist@gmail.com

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant

I’m not a planner, but I deal with their regulations fairly often in a CE office. We do several raze and replace site plans every year. I’m on Cape Cod. I don’t believe that any of our towns have any regulation to rebuilding specifically on ocean front property. We have multiple levels of regulation for such properties, not the least of which are coastal wetlands protection laws.