Portfolio Thoughts Much Appreciated!

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PORTFOLIO & RESUME Portfolio Thoughts Much Appreciated!

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Greetings!

I’m an experienced planner/mid-manager currently looking for work in Houston, Atlanta, Washington DC, and Dallas. I’ve attached a few work samples from my portfolio and would be grateful for any critiques. The job hunt has been brutal, especially since many design firms will only accept resumes with BLAs and MLAs. I have a degree in urban planning but have spent most of my career on the design side. My biggest concern is my 3D skills. I’m concerned that my 3D Sketchup work (which is now 7 years old) is looking dated. Most of the work are plans, but few elevations and renderings. I’m here to listen to your critiques, both positive and negative. Thank you very much!

Nick Schmidt AICP, PMP
    Nick Schmidt – Portfolio

For More About Me:
    https://www.linkedin.com/in/nickrschmidt/

Andres Pineda
    Participant

Hello Nick, I hope your search has gotten better by this time!

When applying I have always asked my students to look at the firm they are looking to work in and try to relay this in their own portfolio. If you are able to transmit your experience and skills by showcasing something relatively close to the same language they carry, you will have a greater opportunity than if you don’t.

Renderings, Elevations, Plans, Conceptual processes to even sketches are all important to showcase your thought process, structure and how you go about a project.

This not only tells me of your skills but can begin to showcase your character and charisma.

These are some questions I ask as part of the process when putting a portfolio together:
    • To who are presenting to?
    • How will you present?