Reasonable percentage mark up for plant material?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Reasonable percentage mark up for plant material?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Alexander Smith
    Participant

In this market what is the reasonable percentage mark up for plant material on a residential job. I’m new to bidding jobs. Need advice.

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant

It depends on where you are buying them – direct from production nurseries, from re-wholesalers, or from retailers. It also depends on where your market is, how much reputation you have to build your value.

In my market, the well established upper level contractors get about 3.5 x the direct price of plants including installation, soil amendments, and warranty. That is roughly 2.25 x retail. They do not line item the plants in the contracts, but many separate out the price for the plants in the final bill in order to collect the sales tax. They don’t  show a 3.5x markup, but a price comparable to retail. The rest of the money is still collected per contract – the difference being the sales tax and any extras.

mark foster
    Participant

In this part of the country,  it seems to be @  2 1/2-3 times the wholesale cost of the plant.   That said, the quickest way to A. loose your shirt, or B. price yourself out of the market, is to depend too heavily on unit prices.  

Work associated with the plantings (added topsoil, amendments, drainage) should be priced separately.  Cincinnati is probably similar to Louisville–silt loam in one place, pottery clay in another….

Jonathan Smith, RLA
    Participant

Does this 2.5-3 x markup include overhead and profit, labor and amendments?

mark foster
    Participant

yes.  but anything beyond the plant itself would be extra (earth moving, drainage etc)

Jonathan Smith, RLA
    Participant