Switching to Mac (Is it worth it?)

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums TECHNOLOGY Switching to Mac (Is it worth it?)

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Kyle Regeling
    Participant

Hey all,

I am still a student and am considering buying a macbook pro as my next computer. I mostly use CAD, sketchup and adobe programs. Has anyone had difficulty switching to CAD on a mac when formerly using a PC? or any sketchup issues?

Also because I am a student I will be doing group projects and working on school pc’s. Does this cause any issues when sharing files and seamlessly working on projects with others?

Any other input would be great!

toby
    Participant

go read the questions and responses about mac and autocad and other cad software: http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/forum.php

Blair LeJeune
    Participant

i use both os systems, i use my Mac for all of the design suite and some sketchup and my desktop pc for modeling and CAD. but when it comes to CAD for Mac the interface is somewhat confusing and uncomfortable to use. some things dont seem to work as well as the pc version. it is nice though being able to switch between both platforms and knowing somewhat of whats going on. but overall just playing around on the computer type stuff, i always choose my mac, much more user friendly imho.

Robert Anderson
    Participant

Kyle,

Not sure if you have taken the plunge yet or not but I wanted to respond. To your question if there are compatibility issues between platforms with sketch up and “CAD”. As for sketch up I personally use mac as part of my consulting business and it seems to work better on mac than windows. The days of cross platform compatibility are long in the past.