Tips for someone just getting started with AutoCad?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Tips for someone just getting started with AutoCad?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Sara Malmqvist
    Participant

I am new to the site and hoping to find some tips and advice here. I am currently a landscape designer and am planning on going back to school to get my MLA at some point within the next few years. I am now wanting to get a headstart on learning AutoCad so that it’s one less new overwhelming thing when I go back to school. I have considered taking a class, but most of them seem pretty pricey and I question if it is worth the money? So I am thinking of just buying a book and getting started myself.

Any tips on books? Good tutorials? Learning tips? Any and all input is GREATLY appreciated!

Thanks so much!

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant

I went back to school in ’94 because of CAD (dropped out in ’83 because I could not draw well enough), so I know where you are coming from. I had not even used a computer when I went back.

Fortunately they had a great Autocad class where they taught from a “process oriented” perspective rather than a “product oriented”. The book that we used was called “Mastering Autocad”. Some books and classes show you a direct route to draw a particular item (product” while others teach you the commands that you need to know so that you can figure out how to do whatever you want to do (process).” Mastering Autocad” followed that latter method which worked well for me.

David J. Chirico
    Participant

I learned thru reading a Mastering AutoCAD book as well. However, the problems and guides that come in the attached CD require AutoCAD to work thru. And, even the most watered down versions of CAD (AutoCAD LT) is about $1000 dollars.

The bargain basement way to do it, would be to buy a used book and download the free trial of AutoCAD and do as much as you can.